X Games announces rally invitations

Updated: June 15, 2012, 11:28 AM ET

Global RallyCross overall leader Marcus Grönholm and 2011 GRC champion Tanner Foust head a list of 15 drivers who have been invited to compete in RallyCross on July 1 at 2012 X Games Los Angeles.

Brian Deegan will go for his second consecutive X Games gold medal in RallyCross against fellow multisport athletes Travis Pastrana, Dave Mirra, Bucky Lasek and Stephan Verdier.

Rounding out the RallyCross invitation list is Ken Block, David Binks, Toomas Heikkenen, Patrick Moro, Rhys Millen, Sverre Isachsen, Andy Scott and Samuel Hubinette.

Grönholm [43 points] won his second consecutive GRC final Saturday at Texas Motor Speedway to stretch his lead to six points over second-place Foust [37], and 17 points over third-place Verdier. After the X Games GRC has two more stops, July 14 in New Hampshire and Sept. 29 in Las Vegas. Below are the GRC's current overall standings.

Travis Pastrana, Ken BlockDonald Miralle/Getty Images for TMSKen Block jumps his car over Travis Pastrana's during Global RallyCross round two in Texas.