Jackets loaded -- on the sideline

In order to understand the amount of football knowledge now present on Georgia Tech's sideline, take a look at the recent ACC Coach of the Year Awards:

2009 -- Paul Johnson

2008 -- Paul Johnson

2007 -- Al Groh

According to the ACC, there are only three other coaches currently in the conference who have earned the title -- Wake Forest coach Jim Grobe (2006), Maryland coach Ralph Friedgen (2001), and Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer (2004, 2005).

When Groh decided to take the job as Georgia Tech's defensive coordinator, he did so because he saw potential there -- potential for something bigger than an ACC title and Orange Bowl appearance, and he wanted to be a part of it. With Groh's defensive knowledge and Johnson's ownership of the spread option offense, Georgia Tech could be one of the most difficult teams to prepare for in a week's span.

Of course, the Jackets have to put it all together on the field, and they've got a lot of new faces in new places. Considering the staff now includes the winners of the past three Coach of the Year awards, though, Georgia Tech enters this fall loaded on the sideline.