The Mt. Rushmore of Maryland football

Posted by ESPN.com's Heather Dinich

Here is the final post for Thursday's installment of our Mt. Rushmore project. As Doron, a Maryland student wrote, we're moving on to "Mt. Testudo."

Ian in Baltimore wrote: the mt.rushmore for maryland football would have to include randy white, boomer esiason, shawne merriman, and vernon davis

Harris in NY wrote: MY Maryland Terripans Mt Rushmore Boomer Esiason, EJ Henderson, Randy White, JIm Tatum

Brendan in College Park suggested: Maryland Mt. Rushmore - Randy White, Boomer Esiason, E.J. Henderson and Ralph Friedgen.

Here's the final verdict:

Randy White -- White was one of the quickest defensive linemen the game had seen. In 1974, White received the Outland and Lombardi trophies as the nation's top lineman, was named the ACC Player of the Year, and was a unanimous first team All-American. White was a first-round NFL draft pick for the Dallas Cowboys, and his No. 94 jersey has since been retired. He was inducted into both the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1994.

Boomer Esiason -- The left-handed quarterback was a two-time All-American who set 17 school records for passing and total offense, and led the Terps to the ACC title in 1983 and a berth in the Tangerine Bowl. He went on to become a four-time Pro Bowl selection and league MVP in 1988.

E.J. Henderson -- He won the Butkus Award in 2002 as the nation's top linebacker, as well as the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's most outstanding defensive player. In 2001, he was the ACC's leading tackler with 150 (103 solo), and became just the fourth Terp to be named the ACC's Player of the Year. Henderson was selected early in the second round of the 2003 NFL Draft by the Minnesota Vikings.

H.C. "Curley" Byrd -- It's impossible to go to a game at Maryland without being reminded of Harry Clifton "Curley" Byrd, a former coach, player, athletic director, campus president, and namesake of the stadium, which was built under his guidance. Byrd was president of the university from 1935-1954, and compiled a 119-82-15 record as head football coach.