FWAA's Freshman All-Americas

The Football Writers Association of America announced its 10th Freshman All-America team, and the ACC had four representatives. The Big 12 and Southeastern conferences each placed five players on the team, followed by the ACC, the PAC-10 with three, and the Big Ten, Big East, Mountain West and Conference USA with two players each.

Florida State coach Jimbo Fisher claimed the first-year coaching honors after a 10-4 record that included a win over South Carolina in the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

The team and coach are selected by a 11-person panel of nationally-prominent writers led by Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News Sentinel. Both true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were considered for the team. Here are the ACC's representatives:

  • Maryland quarterback Danny O'Brien,

  • Miami offensive tackle Seantrel Henderson

  • Georgia Tech offensive guard Will Jackson

  • Florida State cornerback Xavier Rhodes

  • FSU coach Jimbo Fisher