ACC wins the combine race -- again

You always hear about the SEC and its speed.

Well, the ACC isn't exactly the John Daly of 40 times.

The ACC has had the fastest players at the combine in each of the past two years -- Jacoby Ford in 2009, and Darrius Heyward-Bey in 2008. Thanks to former Miami cornerback Demarcus Van Dyke, you can add 2010 to that list.

Van Dyke was the fastest player at the combine, clocking a 4.28 in the 40-yard dash. He was the fastest cornerback and the fastest player overall. He ran the third-fastest 40 at the combine since 2000, according to NFL.com. Maryland running back Da'Rel Scott was tied for second overall with LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson. Not bad company.

Sure, the SEC is fast. But for the past three years, the fastest 40-time at the NFL combine has come from the ACC.