Nine ACC players named to Bronko Nagurski watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Heather Dinich

The ACC was well-represented with nine players and more than half its schools on the list of 62 candidates for the Bronko Nagurski Award, given to the nation's best defensive player.

Players may be added or removed during the season. After the first four games of the season, the FWAA will revise the list and at that time school sports information directors may submit names for players not on the list to the FWAA and their conference's FWAA All-America Committee representative.

Each week during the 2009 season, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If the selected player is not on the watch list, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 18 or 19. For the entire release, click here.

Here are the ACC's representatives:

  • Morgan Burnett, safety, Georgia Tech

  • Kam Chancellor, safety, Virginia Tech

  • Ras-I Dowling, cornerback, Virginia

  • Vince Oghobaase, defensive tackle, Duke

  • Boo Robinson, nose guard, Wake Forest

  • Quan Sturdivant, linebacker, North Carolina

  • Deunta Williams, safety, North Carolina

  • Alex Wujciak, linebacker, Maryland

  • Willie Young, defensive end, NC State