Swinney, London, finalists for COY award

Let's get the bad news out of the way first: Clemson missed out on the commitment of Keith Marshall, the No. 6 overall player in the ESPNU 150.

The good news for Clemson and Virginia? Clemson coach Dabo Swinney and Virginia coach Mike London were named two of 10 finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award. The honor is presented each year by the Liberty Mutual Insurance Company. They join Mike Gundy of Oklahoma State; Brady Hoke of Michigan; Mark Hudspeth of Louisiana at Lafayette; Les Miles of LSU; Bobby Petrino of Arkansas; Mark Richt of Georgia; Nick Saban of Alabama; and Bill Snyder of Kansas State.

Fans can visit Coachoftheyear.com between Dec. 6 and Dec. 22 to vote daily among the finalists in each division.