Dave Doeren finalist for national COY award

NC State coach Dave Doeren, who was hired on Saturday from Northern Illinois, has been named one of nine finalists for the 2012 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. The winner will be revealed on Thursday, Dec. 13. Doeren joins Gary Andersen (Utah State), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Will Muschamp (Florida), Bill O'Brien (Penn State), David Shaw (Stanford), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M).

From the release:

Dave Doeren, Northern Illinois (12-1): After a season-opening 18-17 loss to Iowa at Soldier Field in Chicago, the Huskies have won 12 straight games and earned the Mid-American Conference's first Bowl Championship Series berth, a date with Florida State in the Discover Orange Bowl. The Huskies capped off the regular season with a 44-37 overtime victory over Kent State, another one-loss team at the time, in the MAC championship game. The season catapulted Doeren to accept the NC State job.