NFF CFB HOF candidates announced

The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today the names of 77 players and five coaches who comprise the 2013 FBS ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. There are several former players on the list from current ACC schools. Here are their bios, according to the release:

  • Jerome Brown, Miami, defensive tackle: 1986 unanimous first-team All-American and finalist for both the Outland and Lombardi trophies as senior. … Helped Canes to four consecutive New Year’s Day bowl games. … Ranks 10th in school history with 21 career sacks.

  • William Fuller, North Carolina, defensive tackle: Two-time first-team All-American, earning consensus honors in 1983. … Holds school record with 57 career TFL and broke Lawrence Taylor’s season record with 22 TFL in 1981. … Three-time first-team All-ACC pick.

  • Anthony Poindexter, Virginia, defensive back: Two-time first-team All-America, earning consensus honors in 1998. … Three-time All-ACC pick and 1998 ACC Defensive Player of the Year. … Holds five school records and finished career with 342 tackles and 12 interceptions.

  • Mike Ruth, Boston College, noseguard: 1985 consensus first-team All-America and Outland Trophy winner. …Three-time All-East and All-ECAC selection. … Member of three bowl teams and recorded 344 career tackles, including 29 sacks.

  • Lucius Sanford, Georgia Tech, linebacker: Named first-team All-America in 1977. … A three-time first-team all-conference selection, he led Georgia Tech in tackles in 1975 (121) and 1976 (117). … Named to the Georgia Tech Hall of Fame and the school’s all-time team in 1991.

  • Vinny Testaverde, Miami, quarterback: Winner of 1986 Heisman, Walter Camp, Maxwell Award, and Davey O’Brien. … Led Canes to three bowl berths, including 1987 Fiesta Bowl to determine national championship. … Finished career with 6,058 passing yards and 48 TD passes.

  • Ted Brown, North Carolina State, tailback: 1978 consensus first-team All-America, helping NC State to three bowl berths. … Only four-year first-team All-ACC pick in league history. … Led team in rushing four-straight years and still holds five school records.

  • Marco Coleman, Georgia Tech, linebacker: 1991 first-team All-America pick. … Two-time first-team All-ACC, leading Jackets to the national championship and an 11-0-1 record in 1990. … Twenty-eight career sacks ranks 12th all-time in ACC history.

From the release:

The ballot was mailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class. Chaired by Gene Corrigan, a former ACC commissioner and NCAA president, the 14-member NFF Honors Court includes an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletics directors, conference commissioners, Hall of Famers and members of the media. The FBS Hall of Fame class will be announced live in New York City during a noon news conference on May 7.