Print and Go Back ACC [Print without images]

Tuesday, February 28, 2012
NC State and the FCS

By staff

I've gotten several questions from you guys about the status of NC State opponent South Alabama, and how many wins NC State needs this season to become bowl eligible.

Answer: Seven. Promise.

As you can see here from South Alabama's program timeline, 2012 is still a transitional year for South Alabama, which means the Jaguars are still an FCS team. They are not eligible to compete for the Sun Belt Conference championship until 2013, when they are considered full FBS classification.

Because NC State is also playing The Citadel, two FCS teams (yawn), only one counts toward bowl eligibility. It is the same scenario as last year. To avoid any possible confusion with South Alabama's "transition," I double checked with both schools and the ACC office to make sure this was correct, and it is: NC State needs seven wins in 2012 for bowl eligibility.