Print and Go Back AFC North [Print without images]

Tuesday, November 22, 2011
Wake-up: Bengals dispute overturned TD

By Jamison Hensley

Every morning, grab a cup of coffee and get your AFC North wake-up call here:

Bengals coach Marvin Lewis believes Jermaine Gresham's fourth-quarter touchdown should have been upheld by replay because it didn't violate the "Calvin Johnson rule."

In the interpretation of referee Ron Winter, Gresham was still a receiver when he went to the ground after getting two feet inbounds and he lost control of the ball momentarily when it touched the ground. Lewis argued that Gresham had made a second move and had gone from being a receiver into a runner.

“I think Jermaine performed a second act in reaching the ball. He got two feet clearly down, and performed a second act of reaching the ball,” Lewis said, via The Cincinnati Enquirer. “I don’t see how you can overturn it not being conclusive.”

It was a game-changing play because the Bengals would have cut the deficit to three points with 5 1/2 minutes left in the game. Instead, Cincinnati trailed by seven points and needed a touchdown at the end to tie the game.

Hensley's slant: As I stated after the game, it was the right call by the officials but a bad rule. While this was a controversial play, the Bengals only have themselves to blame for putting themselves in position of playing catch-up. It would have been a different game in the fourth quarter if Andy Dalton didn't throw two interceptions and the defense didn't allow two quick touchdowns off those turnovers.