Tennessee Titans schedule analysis

April, 20, 2010
4/20/10
7:05
PM ET
Breakdown: The league’s emphasis on late-season division games gets a full-blown go for the Tennessee Titans: Five of their six AFC South games come in the last six games of the season. Tennessee finishes the year at Houston, with home games against Jacksonville, Indianapolis and Houston, at Kansas City and at Indianapolis. I much prefer divisional rematches be spaced far apart, because teams can be completely different at different stages of the season. The Titans go to Jacksonville Oct. 18, then don’t worry about the teams they are trying to finish ahead of until after Thanksgiving. The games against the Texans and Colts both come within a month of each other.

Complaint department: The Titans haven’t finished their regular season with a home game since 2006. And they will finish at Indianapolis for the third time in four years. This time around it may qualify as a compliment. As the league put division teams against each other in the final week to try to help prevent meaningless games, does it mean it views Tennessee as the Colts' primary challenger?

Visibility: Two prime-time games for a team coming off an 8-8 season and having lost some names of note isn’t bad. Chris Johnson and Vince Young certainly helped the Titans draw a Monday night game at Jacksonville and get them the Colts in a home Thursday night game on Dec. 9.

Titans Regular Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 12, Oakland, 1:00 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 19, Pittsburgh, 1:00 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 26, at NY Giants, 1:00 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 3, Denver, 1:00 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 10, at Dallas, 4:15 PM
Week 6: Monday, Oct. 18, at Jacksonville, 8:30 PM
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 24, Philadelphia, 1:00 PM
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 31, at San Diego, 4:05 PM
Week 9: BYE
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 14, at Miami, 1:00 PM
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 21, Washington, 1:00 PM
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 28, at Houston, 1:00 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 5, Jacksonville, 1:00 PM
Week 14: Thursday, Dec. 9, Indianapolis, 8:20 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 19, Houston, 1:00 PM
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 26, at Kansas City, 1:00 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 2, at Indianapolis, 1:00 PM

Paul Kuharsky | email

ESPN Tennessee Titans reporter

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Insider