Fisher wins Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year

Posted by ESPN.com's Paul Kuharsky
The Associated Press NFL Coach of the Year will be revealed Sunday evening and Atlanta's Mike Smith and Miami's Tony Sparano are widely regarded as favorites. Fair or not, the honor often goes to a newcomer who exceeds expectations.

The Maxwell Football Club voters leaned differently, voting to give Tennessee's Jeff Fisher its Earle "Greasy" Neale Award for Professional Coach of the Year.

Of the 1,109 votes received, Fisher had 332, Sparano 292 and Smith 185. An additional 300 votes were divided among sixteen others.