Texans Johnson is NFL Alumni WR of the Year

Posted by ESPN.com's Paul Kuharsky
Texans receiver Andre Johnson has been named the NFL Alumni Wide Receiver of the Year. Johnson led the NFL in receptions (115) and receiving yards (1,575), becoming the first player to do so since Cincinnati's Chad Johnson in 2005.

Here are some details the Texans just passed along:

  • Johnson also won the award in 2006.

  • He joins WR Jerome Mathis (2005) and DE Mario Williams (2007) as prior Texans to receive the award. The Texans hold the distinction as the only team in the NFL to have a player honored over each of the last four seasons.

  • Johnson will be honored along with the other 2008 recipients at the 27th annual Player of the Year Awards Dinner, to be held Friday, January 30, 2009, at the Hyatt Regency Tampa. During the awards ceremony, each honoree will receive his NFL Alumni Player of the Year award from a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame who once played the same position.