Jacksonville Jaguars schedule analysis

April, 17, 2012
4/17/12
8:06
PM ET
Breakdown: Mike Mularkey has a shot at a good start in his first season as coach of the Jaguars, with an opener at Minnesota and a Week 3 trip to Indianapolis sandwiched around a home game against defending division champ Houston.

Last year the Jaguars got a surprising three prime-time games, including two at home. This time they get the minimum of one, and it’s a Thursday night game that kills two birds with one stone for the NFL -- Nov. 8 at EverBank Field against the Colts.

This looks to me like a reasonably balanced schedule. But come Nov. 25, Jacksonville will have played all but one of its six AFC South games, with only a season finale at Tennessee left. That makes it tougher to make up ground late if the Jaguars are in the mix for the division’s top spot.

Complaint department: The Jaguars have only one set of back-to-back road games, but the schedule-maker did the team no big favors with the set up. Following a trip to Oakland, the farthest of the season, the Jaguars draw a trip to Green Bay for what could be their toughest road game of the year. At least that’s on Oct. 28, before Lambeau Field gets the most severe weather that provides the largest home-field advantage.

Quirky: Just as I struggle to understand why games between two teams in the same division can’t be separated by at least a month (see Colts-Texans this season), I would love an explanation why a team should play all four of the teams from a division in consecutive games. That’s what the Jaguars get with the AFC East in December with at Buffalo, Jets, at Miami and New England lined up.

Jaguars Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 9, at Minnesota, 1:00 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 16, Houston, 1:00 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 23, at Indianapolis, 1:00 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Sept. 30, Cincinnati, 4:05 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 7, Chicago, 4:05 PM
Week 6: BYE
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 21, at Oakland, 4:15 PM
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 28, at Green Bay, 1:00 PM
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 4, Detroit, 1:00 PM
Week 10: Thursday, Nov. 8, Indianapolis, 8:20 PM
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 18, at Houston, 1:00 PM
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 25, Tennessee, 1:00 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 2, at Buffalo, 1:00 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 9, NY Jets, 1:00 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 16, at Miami, 1:00 PM
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 23, New England, 1:00 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 30, at Tennessee, 1:00 PM

Paul Kuharsky | email

ESPN Tennessee Titans reporter

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Insider