AFC South: Andre Reed

Both have strong résumés.

Tony Dungy led the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Indianapolis Colts to the playoffs in 11 of his 13 seasons coaching the teams. The Colts won Super Bowl XLI under Dungy.

Receiver Marvin Harrison is in the top seven in receiving yards, receptions and receiving touchdowns.

None of those accolades mattered Saturday because Harrison and Dungy will have to wait at least another year. The two were not named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014.

Harrison, who was in his first year of eligibility, made the cut from 15 modern-era finalists to 10, but did not make the cut to the five players to be voted on for the class. Dungy didn’t make the cut from 15 to 10 in the selection meeting.

Reed’s selection over Harrison is confusing. Reed is headed to the Hall of Fame after being an eight-time finalist.

The numbers prove that Harrison was a better receiver. There's no other way to look at it.

Harrison had at least 1,000 yards receiving and 10 touchdowns in eight straight seasons. Reed had at least 1,000 yards and 10 touchdowns in a season only once in his career. He topped 1,000 receiving yards in a season only four times in his 16-year career.

Harrison was an eight-time Pro Bowler and six-time All-Pro selection. Reed played in seven Pro Bowls.

Harrison's and Dungy's time will come.

Just not now.
INDIANAPOLIS -- Former Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy and receiver Marvin Harrison are a step away from being elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Dungy and Harrison are two of the 15 finalists for this year's Hall of Fame class.

The 46-person Hall of Fame panel will vote for the 2014 class on Feb. 1.

Dungy, the winningest coach in Colts history, won five division titles, reached the AFC Championship Game twice and won a Super Bowl while coaching the team from 2002-08.

Harrison was second in league history in receptions when he retired in 2008. He had eight straight 1,000-yard receiving seasons. He ended his career with 1,102 receptions for 14,580 yards and 128 touchdowns.

The Colts have 12 individuals in the Hall of Fame.

Here's a list of the 13 of other finalists for the Hall of Fame: Kicker Morten Andersen, running back Jerome Bettis, linebacker Derrick Brooks, receiver Tim Brown, owner Edward DeBartolo, Jr., linebacker Kevin Greene, punter Ray Guy, defensive end Charles Haley, defensive end Claude Humphrey, offensive tackle Walter Jones, safety John Lynch, receiver Andre Reed, guard Will Shields, defensive end Michael Strahan and cornerback Aeneas Williams.
NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Randy Moss has taken the practice field or will shortly and the Titans will put in about two hours of work as they begin to work on the game plan for Miami.

Afterwards, he’s expected to say a bit and take a couple questions.

How that goes is anyone’s guess, but based on his media history and the expectations being discussed inside team headquarters, I’d bet it won’t be a lengthy or thorough information session.

I'll check in after we hear from him.

In the meantime, here are a few Moss notes that the Titans have provided.
  • In his four previous games debuting with a new team, including two games with Minnesota separated by nine years, Moss has averaged 122 yards a game with a 22.2 yards-per-catch average and at least one touchdown (five total).
  • Moss has been part of four teams with a top 10 rushing offense: the 2000 Vikings (sixth, led by Robert Smith), the 2002 Vikings (first led by Michael Bennett), the 2003 Vikings (fourth, led by Moe Williams) and the 2008 Patriots (sixth, led by Sammy Morris). Led by Chris Johnson, the Titans currently rank second. But one of their major motivations in claiming Moss was to help stretch defenses and gain more room for Johnson.
  • Three catches for Moss will give him 951 for his career and tie him with Andre Reed for eighth all-time on the NFL reception leaders list. Of the top 10, Moss has the best average (15.6) with No. 7 Isaac Bruce second, with a 14.9-yard average on 1,024 catches.