San Diego Chargers 53-man roster projection


The San Diego Chargers open training camp on July 30 at Chargers Park in San Diego, California.

Veteran tight end Antonio Gates likely will begin the regular season on the NFL’s suspended list while serving his four-game suspension for violating the league’s policy on performance-enhancing drugs. That means Gates will not count as part of San Diego’s 53-man roster to start the regular season.

Quarterbacks (2): Philip Rivers, Kellen Clemens (cut: Brad Sorensen, Chase Rettig)

Running backs (4): Melvin Gordon, Danny Woodhead, Branden Oliver, Donald Brown (cut: Jahwan Edwards, Dreamius Smith)

Wide receivers (6): Keenan Allen, Malcom Floyd, Stevie Johnson, Jacoby Jones, Dontrelle Inman, Javontee Herndon (cut: Austin Pettis, Torrence Allen, Titus Davis, Tyrell Williams, Demetrius Wilson)

Tight ends (3): Ladarius Green, John Phillips, David Johnson (cut: David Paulson, Kyle Miller, Brian Parker, Eric Frohnapfel)

Tackles (4): King Dunlap, D.J. Fluker, Joe Barksdale, Chris Hairston (cut: Tyreek Burwell, Forrestal Hickman)

Guards (3): Orlando Franklin, Johnnie Troutman, Jeremiah Sirles (cut: Kenny Wiggins, Craig Watts, Michael Huey, Ben Beckwith)

Centers (2): Chris Watt, Trevor Robinson (cut: none)

Defensive tackles (3): Sean Lissemore, Ryan Carrethers, Mitch Unrein (cut: Damion Square)

Defensive ends (4): Corey Liuget, Kendall Reyes, Tenny Palepoi, Ricardo Mathews (cut: Darius Philon, Cameron Botticelli)

Outside linebackers (5): Melvin Ingram, Jeremiah Attaochu, Tourek Williams, Kyle Emanuel, Cordarro Law (cut: Colton Underwood, Brock Hekking, Ryan Mueller)

Inside linebackers (4): Donald Butler, Manti Te’o, Denzel Perryman, Kavell Conner (cut: Chi Chi Ariguzo, Curtis Grant, Nick Dzubnar)

Cornerbacks (6): Brandon Flowers, Jason Verrett, Patrick Robinson, Steve Williams, Richard Crawford, Greg Ducre (cut: Craig Mager, Chris Davis, Lowell Rose, Manuel Asprilla)

Safeties (4): Eric Weddle, Jimmy Wilson, Jahleel Addae, Darrell Stuckey (cut: Adrian Phillips, Gordon Hill, Johnny Lowdermilk)

Specialists (3): Nick Novak, Mike Scifres, Mike Windt (cut: Josh Lambo)