AFC West HOF semifinalists

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its 27 semifinalists for enshrinement in 2012. The list of 27 will be pared to 17 finalists in January, and the enshrinement vote will be held in February.

Let’s take a look at the nine candidates among the 27 who spent significant portions of their careers in the AFC West. Here they are:

Steve Atwater, S, -- 1989-98 Denver Broncos

Will he get in? He might be getting closer, but this year might be tough.

Tim Brown, WR -- 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

Will he get in? Brown will get in, but it might take some more time because of the logjam at receiver, whether it’s right or not.

Don Coryell, coach -- 1978-86 San Diego Chargers

Will he get in? The late coach has his supporters, but it won’t be easy.

Terrell Davis, RB -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos.

Will he get in? Davis’ short career remains his biggest challenge.

Albert Lewis, CB – 1983-93 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

Will he get in? Nice to see him make this list for the first time, but it might be tough.

John Lynch, S – 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Will he get in? Hard hitter will likely get in soon, if not this year.

Karl Mecklenburg, LB -- 1983-1994 Denver Broncos

Will he get in? I’d call him a big longshot to make it in 2013.

Warren Sapp, DT – 2004-07 Oakland Raiders

Will he get in? I’d be surprised if he doesn’t make it in his first year on the ballot.

Will Shields, G -- 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Will he get in? I have a good feeling about Shields in his second year of eligibility.