Chargers hand out team awards

The San Diego Chargers just announced their team awards for what is shaping up to be a special season. The 12-3 Chargers will be the No. 2 seed in the AFC playoffs:

MVP: Quarterback Philip Rivers.

My thoughts: The guy could be the NFL MVP. Easy call.

Offensive player of the year: Tight end Antonio Gates and receiver Vincent Jackson.

My thoughts: Both Gates and Jackson were instrumental this season. Truly, neither weapon was more important.

Defensive player of the year: Linebacker Shaun Phillips and cornerback Quentin Jammer.

My thoughts: I’d give a slight edge to Phillips, who leads the NFL with seven forced fumbles and who has seven sacks.

Special teams Player of the year: Kassim Osgood.

My thoughts: There is no better special teamer in the NFL than Osgood.

Lineman of the year: Left tackle Marcus McNeill.

My thoughts: McNeill bounced back nicely from an injury-filled 2008.

Most Inspirational player of the year: Linebacker Stephen Cooper.

My thoughts: Cooper gets the team fired up nearly every play.