Print and Go Back ESPN.com: AFC West [Print without images]

Tuesday, April 17, 2012
San Diego Chargers schedule analysis

By Bill Williamson

Breakdown: The Chargers will be on "Monday Night Football" twice. They open the season at Oakland in the second game of a Monday night doubleheader. The Chargers must get used to playing in prime time. They have five night games and they come early in the schedule.

The Chargers play in prime time in Week 5 -- at home on Sunday night against Drew Brees and the Saints.  San Diego then plays at Denver against Peyton Manning on Monday night in Week 6. The Chargers host Kansas City in a Thursday night game on Nov. 1 and visit Tim Tebow and the Jets on Dec. 23.

Complaint department: The Chargers have challenges throughout the season, especially in the second half with some difficult road games. Playing at Pittsburgh in Week 14 and the Jets in Week 16 is not ideal for a team that will likely be playing meaningful late-season games.

Start fast:Starting fast is always paramount in San Diego.  This season is no different with coach Norv Turner on the hot seat.  After opening at Oakland, the Chargers have tough home games against the Titans and Falcons in Week 2 and 3, respectively. Starting strong was a problem until last year, when the Chargers fell apart with a six-game losing streak in the middle of the season. But if the Chargers don’t start quickly in 2012, the pressure will be on Turner.

Chargers Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Monday, Sept. 10, at Oakland, 10:15 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 16, Tennessee, 4:15 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 23, Atlanta, 4:05 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Sept. 30, at Kansas City, 1:00 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 7, at New Orleans, 8:20 PM
Week 6: Monday, Oct. 15, Denver, 8:30 PM
Week 7: BYE
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 28, at Cleveland, 1:00 PM
Week 9: Thursday, Nov. 1, Kansas City, 8:20 PM
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 11, at Tampa Bay, 1:00 PM
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 18, at Denver, 4:15 PM
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 25, Baltimore, 4:05 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 2, Cincinnati, 4:15 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 9, at Pittsburgh, 1:00 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 16, Carolina, 4:05 PM
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 23, at N.Y. Jets, 8:20 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 30, Oakland, 4:15 PM