Aeneas Williams named HOF semifinalist

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Former Arizona Cardinals cornerback Aeneas Williams was among 25 semifinalists selected for enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Williams spent the first 10 seasons of his career with the Cardinals, three of which when they were named the Phoenix Cardinals. He started all 16 games in the desert every season except for his rookie year before finishing his career in St. Louis.

In 14 seasons, Williams played in eight Pro Bowls and was named All-Pro four times.

As a Cardinal, he had 46 interceptions, returning six for touchdowns. He forced four fumbles and recovered 14 for 173 yards.

According to the Hall of Fame, when Williams retired after the 2004 season, he was tied with Hall of Famer Ken Houston for second on the all-time list with nine interceptions returned for touchdowns.

Williams is now tied for fourth, having been passed by Charles Woodson and Darren Sharper.

He would be the Cardinals’ 12th Hall of Famer and the first since Roger Wehrli was inducted in 2007.

Cardinals Hall of Famers:

1963 – Ernie Nevers, halfback

1964 – Jimmy Conzelman, coach

1965 – John “Paddy” Driscoll, halfback

1967 - Charles W. Bidwill, Sr., owner

1968 – Charley Trippi, halfback

1972 – Ollie Mason, halfback

1974 – Dick “Night Train” Lane, defensive back

1978 – Larry Wilson, safety

1994 – Jackie Smith, tight end

1996 – Dan Dierdorf, tackle

2007 – Roger Wehrli, cornerback