Print and Go Back Arizona Cardinals [Print without images]

Wednesday, September 4, 2013
Breaking down the depth chart at St. Louis

By Josh Weinfuss

The Arizona Cardinals’ depth chart for Sunday’s game at St. Louis was unveiled Tuesday, but since today is my first day, I thought I’d give it a quick once over.

Not much really stood out with the exception of tight end. Rob Housler firmly owns one spot and Jim Dray is listed as the other starting tight end because Jeff King is on injured reserve with a knee injury. Dray is in his fourth season out of Stanford and has always been a slow-and-steady type of player. He looked bigger during training camp, which led to him having an impressive stay in Glendale -- good enough for Cardinals coach Bruce Arians to enlist him as a starter. He has seven career receptions for 87 yards, including two for 15 yards a season ago. Arians is known for using a two tight end set, but showed glimpses of three tight end packages during the preseason. Dray won’t be called upon to make the big catches -- that’ll be Housler’s job -- but Dray will be an important cog in the Cardinals’ blocking scheme.

Ryan Williams
It's safe to say that Ryan Williams was stunned after being cut by Arizona on Monday. "This release was like seeing Bigfoot," he said.
A few other observations: OFFENSE

WR: Larry Fitzgerald, Jaron Brown

LT: Levi Brown, Nate Potter

LG: Daryn Colledge

C: Lyle Sendlein, Mike Gibson

RG: Paul Fanaika, Earl Watford

RT: Eric Winston, Bobby Massie, Bradley Sowell

TE: Jim Dray, Kory Sperry

WR: Michael Floyd, Andre Roberts

QB: Carson Palmer, Drew Stanton, Ryan Lindley

RB: Rashard Mendenhall, Ryan Williams, Stepfan Taylor, Alfonso Smith, Andre Ellington

TE: Rob Housler, D.C. Jefferson


DE: Calais Campbell, Ronald Talley

NT: Dan Williams, Alameda Ta’amu

DT: Darnell Dockett, Frostee Rucker

SAM: Sam Acho, Alex Okafor

ILB: Jasper Brinkley, Kevin Minter

ILB: Karlos Dansby, Kevin Minter

WILL: Lorenzo Alexander, Matt Shaughnessy, John Abraham

LCB: Patrick Peterson, Javier Arenas, Jamell Fleming

RCB: Jerraud Powers, Antoine Cason, Justin Bethel

SS: Yeremiah Bell, Tony Jefferson

FS: Rashad Johnson, Tyrann Mathieu


K: Jay Feely

P: Dave Zastudil

LS: Mike Leach

H: Dave Zastudil

KR: Javier Arenas, Alfonso Smith, Andre Ellington

PR: Patrick Peterson, Javier Arenas, Tyrann Mathieu