Ravens down to Joe Flacco, two other starters from their 2012 Super Bowl team

When outside linebacker Courtney Upshaw signed with the Falcons on Friday, the Baltimore Ravens not only said goodbye to the last remaining player from their 2012 draft class but also one of the final pieces of their 2012 Super Bowl championship team.

The Ravens are now down to three starters -- quarterback Joe Flacco, guard Marshal Yanda and linebacker Terrell Suggs -- from the team that held off the San Francisco 49ers for a 34-31 win in New Orleans just 38 months ago.

Surprisingly, this doesn't represent a Super turnover. It's become a part of life for Super Bowl champions as teams overpay to pry away players from teams atop the football world. Just ask the Denver Broncos this offseason.

The Ravens' roster makeover is similar to the one with the 49ers, who have four starters remaining (quarterback Colin Kaepernick, offensive tackle Joe Staley and linebackers Ahmad Brooks and NaVorro Bowman) from their Super Bowl team. It's been the same type of roster shift with the New York Giants, who have only three starters left (quarterback Eli Manning, wide receiver Victor Cruz and defensive end Jason Pierre-Paul) from the team that won the Super Bowl one year before Baltimore.

The loss of Upshaw, combined with the departure of offensive lineman Kelechi Osemele earlier this offseason, means the Ravens have no one left from their eight-member 2012 draft class. Three other players from that class (center Gino Gradkowski, cornerback Asa Jackson and defensive tackle DeAngelo Tyson) are still active, and three (running back Bernard Pierce, safety Christian Thompson and wide receiver Tommy Streeter) are unsigned.

Here is a look at the Ravens players who remain from the Super Bowl 53-man roster (not including players on injured reserve such as cornerback Lardarius Webb) and the ones who are gone:

Under contract with the Ravens (9)

QB Joe Flacco, G Marshal Yanda, LB Terrell Suggs, LB Albert McClellan, P Sam Koch, K Justin Tucker, CB Jimmy Smith, TE Dennis Pitta and LS Morgan Cox.

Free agents (5)

WR Anquan Boldin, WR-KR Jacoby Jones, RB Bernard Pierce, CB Cary Williams and SS James Ihedigbo.

With other teams (18)

DT Haloti Ngata (Lions), WR Torrey Smith (49ers), LB Pernell McPhee (Bears), OT Michael Oher (Panthers), LB Paul Kruger (Browns), DT Arthur Jones (Colts), LB Dannell Ellerbe (Saints), CB Corey Graham (Bills), TE Ed Dickson (Panthers), LB Josh Bynes (Lions), C Gino Gradkowski (Panthers), QB Tyrod Taylor (Bills), CB Asa Jackson (Cardinals), CB Chykie Brown (Bengals), DT DeAngelo Tyson (Seahawks), WR Deonte Thompson (Bears), G Kelechi Osemele (Raiders) and LB Courtney Upshaw (Falcons).

Out of NFL for past season (21)

LB Ray Lewis, FS Ed Reed, RB Ray Rice, OT Bryant McKinnie, C Matt Birk, FB Vonta Leach, NT Ma'ake Kemoeatu, WR David Reed, RB Anthony Allen, SS Sean Considine, LB Brendon Ayanbadejo, G Bobbie Williams, TE Billy Bajema, CB Chris Johnson, FS Omar Brown, LB Adrian Hamilton, OT Ramon Harewood, LB Bryan Hall, NT Terrence Cody, WR Tandon Doss and SS Bernard Pollard.