Six from Big 12 on watch for Hendricks Award

Six players from the Big 12 were placed on the watch list for the Ted Hendricks Award, given annually to college football's best defensive end.

  • Sam Acho, Texas

  • Pierre Allen, Nebraska

  • Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma

  • Jake Laptad, Kansas

  • Von Miller, Texas A&M

  • Aldon Smith, Missouri

The 8-year-old award has been won only once by a Big 12 player: Texas' Brian Orakpo in 2008.

Acho and Beal should be strong contenders for the award, but Smith could possibly become a finalist if he can improve on his impressive freshman season that featured 11.5 sacks.

I'm also a little surprised to not see Oklahoma State's Ugo Chinasa (6.5 sacks, eight hurries, 30 tackles) on the 36-man list, but players can be added or deleted as necessary before the list is trimmed in November.