Five from Big 12 up for 'Academic Heisman'

September, 30, 2011
Five Big 12 players are semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, given annually to the "absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation."

There are 127 semifinalists for the award.

The Big 12 nominees:
  • Emmanuel Acho, LB, Texas
  • Tysyn Hartman, S, Kansas State
  • Ryan Tannehill, QB, Texas A&M
  • Grant Ressel, K, Missouri
  • Brandon Weeden, QB, Oklahoma State

Texas DE Sam Acho, Emmanuel Acho's older brother, won the award in 2010.

Here are the criteria:
Nominated by their schools, candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Texas' Dallas Griffin in 2007 is the only other Big 12 player to win the award.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?