Four Big 12 linebackers Butkus Award semifinalists

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

Four Big 12 linebackers were named Friday as semifinalists for the Butkus Award, presented each year by the Butkus Foundation to the nation's best linebacker.

Among those who were named include Oklahoma's Travis Lewis, Missouri's Sean Weatherspoon, Texas A&M's Von Miller and Texas' Sergio Kindle.

Interestingly, both Miller and Kindle have gotten much of their use this season as pass-rushing defensive ends.

Here's a look at the complete group of 16 semifinalists.

  • Obi Ezeh, Michigan

  • Chris Galippo, USC

  • Greg Jones, Michigan State

  • Sean Lee, Penn State

  • Rolando McClain, Alabama

  • Brandon Spikes, Florida

  • Daryl Washington, TCU

  • Eric Norwood, South Carolina

  • Perry Riley, LSU

  • Quan Sturdivant, North Carolina

  • Rennie Curran, Georgia

  • Mark Herzlich, Boston College

  • Travis Lewis, Oklahoma

  • Sean Weatherspoon, Missouri

  • Von Miller, Texas A&M

  • Sergio Kindle, Texas

Lewis has one thing going for him as he continues his quest for the award. No school has produced more Butkus Award winners than Oklahoma, which has four previous winners. Among the former Sooners who won the award include Brian Bosworth in 1985 and 1986, Rocky Calmus in 2001 and Teddy Lehman in 2003.