Big 12 up for two Sports Business Awards

The Sports Business Journal's Sports Business Awards has released its list of nominees for the annual ceremony, and two awards could be heading to the Big 12.

Oklahoma State athletic director Mike Holder is nominated for Athletic Director of the Year and TCU's brand-new digs at Amon G. Carter Stadium is up for the Sports Facility of the Year.

You can see the full list of nominees here.

Texas' DeLoss Dodds won the AD of the Year award from SBJ back in 2011, but we've seen another great year in Oklahoma State athletics, on and off the field, so no big surprise there. Holder will have to beat out Louisville's Tom Jurich, Alabama's Mal Moore, Rutgers' Tim Pernetti and Northwestern's Jim Phillips to win the award.

Heck of an honor for TCU as well. I've written about the stadium quite a bit, but if you didn't make it there in the Frogs' inaugural Big 12 season, I suggest you do so soon. It was designed by the same folks as Cowboys Stadium, and the interior of the stadium really does have a lot of similarity, as well as box seats that are closer to the stadium than most.

It's not the biggest stadium in the Big 12, but the season only confirmed my belief that it's definitely the nicest. To win the SBJ award, it will have to beat out the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, JetBlue Park in Fort Myers, Fla., Pauley Pavilion in Los Angeles and Marlins Park in Miami.