Michael, Smith, Way head All-Big 12 freshman team

December, 8, 2009
Along with my All-Big 12 team, I thought it would be fun to also pick a team made up of freshmen and redshirt freshmen.

There are a couple of gaps. There was only one center, Oklahoma's Ben Habern, on the two-deep rosters on Big 12 rosters. And there are also no kickers, either.

And I'll also go one step further. I'll pick Christine Michael of Texas A&M as my Big 12 Freshman Offensive Player of the Year, Aldon Smith of Missouri as my Big 12 Freshman Defensive Player of the Year and Tress Way of Oklahoma as my Big 12 Freshman Special Teams Player of the Year.

Here's a look at my all-freshman team for offense, defense and special teams.

QB: Landry Jones, Oklahoma
RB: Christine Michael, Texas A&M
RB: Toben Opurum, Kansas
WR: Uzoma Nwachukwu, Texas A&M
WR: Alex Torres, Texas Tech
TE: Ben Cotton, Nebraska
OL: Tanner Hawkinson, Kansas
OL: Bryce Givens, Colorado
OL: Patrick Lewis, Texas A&M
OL: Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State
C: Ben Habern, Oklahoma

DL: Aldon Smith, Missouri
DL: Jamarkus McFarland, Oklahoma
DL: Will Pericak, Colorado
LB: Kyle Manghan, Texas A&M
LB: Huldon Tharp, Kansas
LB: Sean Fisher, Nebraska
LB: Will Compton, Nebraska
DB: Cody Davis, Texas Tech
DB: Chance Casey, Baylor
DB: Dustin Harris, Texas A&M
DB: Ray Polk, Colorado

Special teams:
KR: D.J. Monroe, Texas
PR: Austin Zouzalik, Texas Tech
P: Tress Way, Oklahoma
ST: Kenny Vaccaro, Texas



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?