Print and Go Back Big 12 [Print without images]

Wednesday, August 10, 2011
Big 12 puts four on Hendricks Award list

By staff

The Hendricks Award, given annually to college football's top defensive end, has released its watch list.

Here are the Big 12 players that made the cut:
Brian Orakpo of Texas is the only Big 12 player to ever win the award, which began in 2002.

I'm no fan of this watch list, however.

Harold makes it, despite having left his team, skipping summer workouts and currently not practicing. He may not be back.

Okafor and Smith are both more experienced, but likely will not be the best defensive ends on their own team.

Jackson Jeffcoat at Texas and Brad Madison at Missouri would both be better selections, and it feels like they've been snubbed on the list.

What do you think?