Print and Go Back Big 12 [Print without images]

Friday, September 30, 2011
Five from Big 12 up for 'Academic Heisman'

By staff

Five Big 12 players are semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, given annually to the "absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation."

There are 127 semifinalists for the award.

The Big 12 nominees:
Texas DE Sam Acho, Emmanuel Acho's older brother, won the award in 2010.

Here are the criteria:
Nominated by their schools, candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Texas' Dallas Griffin in 2007 is the only other Big 12 player to win the award.