Print and Go Back Big 12 [Print without images]

Monday, November 12, 2012
More Big 12 players up for national awards

By David Ubben

A pair of Big 12 players made the semifinalist cut for a few national awards.

Oklahoma State running back Joseph Randle is among 10 semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, given annually to college football's best running back.

He's the lone Big 12 back on the list and leads the league in rushing with 1,008 yards and nine touchdowns.

Iowa State punter Kirby Van Der Kamp is one of 10 semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award, given annually to college football's best punter. The Cyclones punter has dropped 26 of his 62 punts inside opponents' 20-yard line.

Kansas running back James Sims and Oklahoma State punter Quinn Sharp have pretty legitimate gripes for exclusion, but Sharp's big leg hasn't gotten much exercise with OSU's high-flying offense, and Sims missed the first three games of the season because of a suspension.