Big 12: Bronko Nagurski Award

Suh, McCoy combine for seven awards

December, 10, 2009
There was a decided Big 12 influence Thursday night as Colt McCoy and Ndamukong Suh accounted for seven awards during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show Thursday night.

McCoy capped the festivities by earning the Maxwell Award. Earlier, he earned the Walter Camp Football Foundation's Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award.

Suh claimed the Outland Trophy and the Chuck Bednarik Award and had earlier been presented with the Bronko Nagurski Award and the Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award.

McCoy beat out Alabama running back Mark Ingram and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow for the Maxwell Award -- the final award presented during Thursday's awards show.

"Tim and Mark are two great candidates and are well deserving of this award," McCoy said. "I'm very humble."

McCoy talked about how excited he is to play in the Citi Bowl Championship Series National Championship on Jan. 7.

"That's something very special, something me and our seniors have worked for four years," McCoy said. "Obviously, we know we have our hands full with Alabama and their offense, defense and special teams. They are very well-coached and are a tremendous football team. But we're really excited about it."

Seven Big 12 players on Nagurski watch list

August, 18, 2009

Posted by's Tim Griffin

Six Big 12 schools are represented in the initial 62-man watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Award, which is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player as determined by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Defensive end Jeremy Beal and defensive tackle Gerald McCoy represent Oklahoma, which leads all Big 12 teams with two selections. 

Other nominees include Baylor linebacker Joe Pawelek, Texas defensive end/linebacker Sergio Kindle, Kansas defensive back Darrell Stuckey, Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and Missouri linebacker Sean Weatherspoon.

The watch list is topped by 17 players from the Southeastern Conference and nine from the Atlantic Coast Conference. The Big 12 is next in a three-way tie for third with the Big Ten and the Pacific-10.

The Big 12 has accounted for four of the Bronko Nagurski Award winners since it began play in 1996, most recently Texas' Brian Orakpo last season. Other Big 12 winners have included Oklahoma's Roy Williams (2001) and Derrick Strait (2003) and Texas' Derrick Johnson (2004).  

Finalists for the award will be announced in mid-November. The trophy will be presented on Dec. 7 in Charlotte, N.C.



Thursday, 11/27
Saturday, 11/29