Big 12: Chuck Bednarik Award

Suh, McCoy combine for seven awards

December, 10, 2009
There was a decided Big 12 influence Thursday night as Colt McCoy and Ndamukong Suh accounted for seven awards during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show Thursday night.

McCoy capped the festivities by earning the Maxwell Award. Earlier, he earned the Walter Camp Football Foundation's Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award.

Suh claimed the Outland Trophy and the Chuck Bednarik Award and had earlier been presented with the Bronko Nagurski Award and the Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award.

McCoy beat out Alabama running back Mark Ingram and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow for the Maxwell Award -- the final award presented during Thursday's awards show.

"Tim and Mark are two great candidates and are well deserving of this award," McCoy said. "I'm very humble."

McCoy talked about how excited he is to play in the Citi Bowl Championship Series National Championship on Jan. 7.

"That's something very special, something me and our seniors have worked for four years," McCoy said. "Obviously, we know we have our hands full with Alabama and their offense, defense and special teams. They are very well-coached and are a tremendous football team. But we're really excited about it."

Suh claims Outland and Bednarik awards

December, 10, 2009
Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh picked up back-to back-awards in a five-minute period as he claimed the Outland Trophy as the nation's best interior lineman and the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's best defensive player.

Suh continued a Nebraska tradition, becoming the eighth Cornhusker and first since Aaron Taylor in 1997 to earn the Outland Trophy, beating out Russell Okung of Oklahoma State and Idaho's Mike Iupati.

In the process, Suh has been a part of a stunning turnaround in the Nebraska defense.

"It's been a tough ride but got some strong guys back there. My class especially has been through some kind of hell," Suh said. "But having a great coaching staff and great defensive gurus like (Nebraska coach) Coach Bo (Pelini) and (Nebraska defensive coordinator) Carl Pelini. We learned the best from them. We want to continue to improve and get better as we do through the year."

Suh said he hopes to represent all of the offensive and defensive linemen as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York City. He becomes the first interior lineman since Warren Sapp of Miami in 1994 to be nominated.

"That's a crazy feeling. I never expected it," Suh said. "After the Missouri game there was some Heisman talk. But I never expected to be there. I'm very proud of it. I talked to a couple of guys when I was at the Lombardi Award and hopefully want to represent those guys in the right way.

"All the guys up front -- the offensive linemen and defensive linemen -- I definitely want to be that person to represent them and happy to do it."

Earlier, Suh overcame Alabama defensive tackle Terrence Cody and Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes to become first Cornhusker and third Big 12 player to win the Bednarik Award.

Big 12 should be honored tonight

December, 10, 2009
It will be like Oscar night around my house this evening.

For good reason, I might add. Most of college football's biggest awards will be presented tonight at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show.

The festivities will begin at 7 p.m. ET, meaning you still have plenty of time to get together with your friends and start your pools.

Here are the Big 12 nominees and their legitimate chances of toting home the hardware from Disney World this evening.

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

Big 12 nominee: Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska.

Chances of winning: Outstanding. Anybody who saw Suh's game against Texas should see he's a pretty deserving candidate.

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)

Big 12 nominee: Jordan Shipley, Texas.

Chances of winning: Poor. Shipley might not have even been the most deserving candidate from the conference, considering the late charge by Missouri's Danario Alexander.

Maxwell Award (best all-around player)

Big 12 nominee: Colt McCoy, Texas.

Chances of winning: Fair. Mark Ingram might get the nod here in what should be tight balloting.

Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback)

Big 12 nominee: Colt McCoy, Texas.

Chances of winning: Good. McCoy's lifetime statistics should boost him past finalists Tim Tebow and Case Keenum.

Outland Trophy (best lineman)

Big 12 nominees: Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska; Russell Okung, Oklahoma State.

Chances of winning: Outstanding. Look for Suh to win this award, although Okung would be a strong selection as well.

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

Big 12 nominee: Earl Thomas, Texas.

Chances of winning: Fair. Eric Berry is the favorite and he played more of the season as a hybrid linebacker/safety. Thomas has eight interceptions this season, but not Berry's career achievements.