Big 12: J.J. Watt

Von Miller a Hendricks Award finalist

December, 1, 2010
Texas A&M linebacker/defensive end Von Miller has been named one of six finalists for the Ted Hendricks Award, given annually to college football's top defensive end.

"I am blessed to be a finalist,” Miller said in a release. "This is a tremendous honor and if it wasn’t for my teammates and their fanatical effort, I would not be receiving this recognition. The most important thing is winning games and my senior season has been a lot of fun with a great group of guys. I am looking forward to going to our bowl game and getting a chance to play one more game with these guys on my team."

The other finalists are:
  • Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson
  • Adrian Clayborn, Iowa
  • Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue
  • Jabaal Sheard, Pittsburgh
  • J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

"Von has had a special senior season,” Aggies coach Mike Sherman said in the statement. "Beyond his play on the field, he has been a leader as the defensive captain and he has given great effort across the board. That includes the off-season workouts, the classroom, the film room and I am very proud of him."

Acho named a Lott IMPACT Trophy finalist

November, 26, 2010
Texas defensive lineman Sam Acho was named one of four finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

The award is given to the nation's best defensive player who also makes an impact off the field. The IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The other players on the list are Oregon linebacker Casey Matthews, LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson and Wisconsin defensive end J.J. Watt.