Big 12: Mark Mariscal

Colorado's all-decade team

January, 19, 2010
Colorado started the decade as one of the North Division's dominant teams, earning bowl berths in five of the first six seasons of the decade.

The Buffaloes have fallen on hard times recently, but they still have provided many outstanding players during the decade.

Here are my choices for Colorado's all-decade team.


QB: Joel Klatt

RB: Chris Brown

RB: Bobby Purify

WR: Scotty McKnight

WR: Derek McCoy

TE: Daniel Graham

OL: Brian Daniels

OL: Andre Gurode

OL: Victor Rogers

OL: Justin Bates

C: Wayne Lucier


DL: Abraham Wright

DL: Tyler Brayton

DL: George Hypolite

DL: Justin Bannan

LB: Jordon Dizon

LB: Sean Tufts

LB: Jeff Smart

DB: Michael Lewis

DB: Terrence Wheatley

DB: Jimmy Smith

DB: Donald Strickland

P: Mark Mariscal

K: Mason Crosby

KR: Jeremy Bloom

Offensive player of the decade: Chris Brown. He was the key player on Colorado’s Big 12 championship team in 2001 and was even better the following season before injuries derailed his Heisman hopes.

Defensive player of the decade: Jordon Dizon. Colorado’s only consensus All-American defensive player of the decade also was the Big 12’s defensive player of the year in 2007 after a four-year career as a starter for the Buffaloes.

Coach of the decade: Gary Barnett. Even with his unseemly departure, Barnett still coached Colorado to its only Big 12 championship and took the Buffaloes to four Big 12 title games in a five-season period. They haven't been back since.

Moment of the decade: Colorado stuns Texas for 2001 Big 12 title. The Buffaloes’ 39-37 victory was sparked by 182 yards rushing and three touchdowns by Brown, pushing them to their only Big 12 football championship and lone BCS bowl appearance of this decade.

Baylor's Epperson among 10 on Ray Guy watch list

August, 5, 2009

Posted by's Tim Griffin

Baylor punter Derek Epperson is among the 10 players on the Ray Guy Award's initial 2009 watch list.

The Greater August Sports Council of Augusta, Ga., provides the award to the nation's top punter. More candidates will be added in late October.

Epperson is one of five semifinalists from the 2008 season who were named to the watch list. Others included Bryan Anger of California, Iowa's Ryan Donahue, Florida's Chas Henry and Michigan's Zoltan Mesko.

Epperson averaged 44.3 yards per punt last season to rank second among Big 12 returning punters. John Gold of Texas led Big 12 returning punters with an average of 45.0 yards per punt on 21 kicks last season.

There were no other Big 12 representatives on Wednesday's watch list.

The Big 12 has claimed four of the nine Ray Guy winners since the award was inaugurated in 2000. Included in the list include Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda, the only two-time winner of the award. Sepulveda was honored in 2004 and 2006. Other Big 12 winners have included Colorado's Mark Mariscal in 2002 and Oklahoma State's Matt Fodge in 2008.

The winner will be announced live during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10.