Big 12: Ray Guy Award

Big 12 collars seven Ray Guy Award nominees

October, 30, 2009
Posted by's Tim Griffin

The Big 12 had seven players who were selected as nominees for the Ray Guy Award given to the nation's top punter.

That total was more than any other conference. Conference USA had six nominees and the Big Ten and SEC had five players apiece selected.

Big 12 nominees include: Iowa State's Mike Brandtner, Colorado's Matt DiLallo, Baylor's Derek Epperson, Missouri's Jake Harry, Nebraska's Alex Henery, Kansas' Alonso Rojas and Oklahoma State's Quinn Sharp.

The list of nominees will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 13. The award, presented by the Greater Augusta (Ga.) Sports Council, will be awarded during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10.

Here is a look at the candidates with the Big 12 nominees in bold.

2009 Ray Guy Award Candidates

Delbert Alvarado, South Florida

Bryan Anger, California

Ben Armer, Western Michigan

Jeremy Boone, Penn State

Brent Bowden, VA Tech

Mike Brandtner, Iowa State

Drew Butler, Georgia

Peter Caldwell, Utah State

Desi Cullen, Connecticut

David Defatta, Middle Tennessee

Kyle Delahooke, Navy

Matt DiLallo, Colorado

Matt Dodge, East Carolina

Ryan Donahue, Iowa

Clinton Durst, Auburn

Derek Epperson, Baylor

P.J. Fitzgerald, Alabama

Reid Forrest, Washington State

Will Goggans, Troy

Mickey Groody, Florida Atlantic

Trevor Hankins, Arizona State

Jake Harry, Missouri

Johnny Hekker, Oregon State

Alex Henery, Nebraska

Chas Henry, Florida

Kevin Jones, Duke

Scott Kozlowski, West Virginia

Spencer Lanning, South Carolina

Jeff Locke, UCLA

Rob Long, Syracuse

Kyle Martens, Rice

Zoltan Mesko, Michigan

Brad Nortman, Wisconsin

Matt Reagan, Memphis

Alonso Rojas, Kansas

Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

Brian Stahovich, San Diego State

Michael Such, Tulsa

Chris Summers, Purdue

Matt Szymanski, SMU

Ross Thevenot, Tulane

Kyle Watson, UNLV

The Big 12 has had more Guy Award winners than any other conference with four since the awarded started in 2000. Big 12 winners included Mark Mariscal of Colorado in 2002, Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda in 2004 and 2006 and Matt Fodge of Oklahoma State in 2008.

Baylor's Epperson among 10 on Ray Guy watch list

August, 5, 2009

Posted by's Tim Griffin

Baylor punter Derek Epperson is among the 10 players on the Ray Guy Award's initial 2009 watch list.

The Greater August Sports Council of Augusta, Ga., provides the award to the nation's top punter. More candidates will be added in late October.

Epperson is one of five semifinalists from the 2008 season who were named to the watch list. Others included Bryan Anger of California, Iowa's Ryan Donahue, Florida's Chas Henry and Michigan's Zoltan Mesko.

Epperson averaged 44.3 yards per punt last season to rank second among Big 12 returning punters. John Gold of Texas led Big 12 returning punters with an average of 45.0 yards per punt on 21 kicks last season.

There were no other Big 12 representatives on Wednesday's watch list.

The Big 12 has claimed four of the nine Ray Guy winners since the award was inaugurated in 2000. Included in the list include Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda, the only two-time winner of the award. Sepulveda was honored in 2004 and 2006. Other Big 12 winners have included Colorado's Mark Mariscal in 2002 and Oklahoma State's Matt Fodge in 2008.

The winner will be announced live during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10.

Wrap-up from awards show

December, 11, 2008

Posted by's Tim Griffin

The Big 12 had a good night at the Home Depot/ESPNU College Football Awards Show, featuring seven players and coaches who claimed eight different awards.

Here's a list of the Big 12's winners, some whom were recognized on the stage and others who weren't.

  • Sam Bradford, Oklahoma quarterback, Davey O'Brien Award.
  • Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech wide receiver, Biletnikoff Award.
  • Colt McCoy, Texas quarterback, Walter Camp Player of the Year.
  • Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State punter, Ray Guy Award.
  • Chase Coffman, Missouri tight end, John Mackey Award.
  • Brian Orakpo, Texas defensive end, Nagurski Award and Rotary Lombardi Award.
  • Kevin Wilson, Oklahoma offensive coordinator, Frank Broyles Award.

The Big 12 was shut out in the final presentation of the evening when Florida quarterback Tim Tebow nosed past Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell and McCoy for the Maxwell Award.

All of these awards serve as a prelude to the Heisman Trophy and a mere appetizer for Saturday's presentation in New York City. I can't wait for the main course.

Seldom-used Fodge receives Ray Guy Award

December, 11, 2008

Posted by's Tim Griffin

Despite not having enough punts to qualify for the NCAA statistical rankings, Oklahoma State punter Matt Fodge claimed the Ray Guy Award as the nation's best punter.

Fodge averaged 44.1 yards per kick on only 31 punts. His punting average would have ranked 11th nationally if he had enough kicks to qualify.  

His teammates often joked about Fodge's lack of use on his team.

"They were joking with all season that they would have to wake me up to punt," Fodge said. "Sometimes, it was the fourth quarter before I went out there."  

Fodge becomes the fourth Big 12 representative to win the award in the nine-year history of its presentation.