Big 12: Will Harvey

Fifteen Big 12 players make academic team

November, 5, 2009
Posted by's Tim Griffin

Fifteen Big 12 players, including quarterbacks Sam Bradford of Oklahoma and Todd Reesing of Kansas, were selected Thursday on the 2009 CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District team.

The Big 12 area includes two districts with South teams in District 6 and North teams in District 7.

Players who were selected to the first team will be placed on the national ballot for Academic All-America consideration.

Here's the list of players who were selected.

Big 12 players on 2009 CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District teams
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown GPA Major
QB Sam Bradford Oklahoma Jr. Oklahoma City, Okla. 3.94 Finance
WR Alex Torres Texas Tech So. El Paso, Texas 3.34 Business
OL Will Harvey Texas Sr. Houston, Texas 3.52 Finance
OL Adam Ulatoski Texas Gr. Southlake, Texas 3.53 Corp. Comm. (BA); Adv. (MA)
DB Cody Davis Texas Tech So. Stephenville, Texas 3.61 Business
LB Joe Pawelek Baylor Sr. San Antonio, Texas 3.71 Finance / economics
DL Sam Acho Texas Jr. Dallas, Texas 3.62 Honors business
DL Jason Lamb Baylor Sr. Richardson, Texas 3.33 Mgmt / HR mgmt.
P Derek Epperson Baylor Jr. Southlake, Texas 3.47 Management / MIS
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown GPA Major
QB Todd Reesing Kansas Sr. Austin, Texas 3.64 Finance & economics
TE Jeron Mastrud Kansas State Sr. Beaverton, Ore. 3.81 Management
OL Kurtis Gregory Missouri Gr. Blackburn, Mo. 3.48 Agriculture
OL Nate Solder Colorado Jr. Buena Vista, Colo. 3.45 Biology
DB Austin Cassidy Nebraska So. Lincoln, Neb. 3.84 Psychology
LB Drew Dudley Kansas Jr. College Station, Texas 3.67 Civil engineering

No more BCS whining allowed for Texas

August, 26, 2009
Posted by's Tim Griffin

Texas coach Mack Brown has decided enough is enough -- at least in terms of complaining about any perceived injustices from the BCS last season.

That controversy played a part in Texas' slogan for the upcoming season: "We Are Texas!"

"We chose that because we have moved forward on the Big 12 tiebreaker and the BCS," Brown said according to "We aren't worrying about the system, we are just concerned about what we can control, and that's how we play."

The Longhorns finished two-a-day practices as the fall semester starts for team members.

Brown also announced the Longhorns had awarded scholarships to three walk-on players.

Defensive back Clark Ford, deep-snapper Will Harvey and tight end Mac McWhorter were awarded scholarships for the upcoming season.

"The staff must be unanimous before a young man's name is called," Brown said.

Two of the new scholarship players have links with the Longhorns. McWhorter is the son of Texas offensive line coach Mac McWhorter. And Harvey's grandfather, Sonny Sowell, lettered on the 1951 Texas team.

"It's a very emotional part of our meeting because no one but the staff and I know who, or if, there will be a scholarship given out," Brown said. "When they were announced, there was a lot of hoopin' and hollerin'. This team is really close and they love these kids that work so hard. It was a really happy meeting room."

Texas has had a strong tradition of walk-on players eventually contributing in roles as they progressed and earned a scholarship. Deep-snapper Cullen Loeffler and fullback Ahmard Hall earned scholarships as seniors and are now playing in the NFL. Walk-on kicker Dusty Mangum hit the game-winning kick to beat Michigan in the 2005 Rose Bowl after earning his scholarship. And David Pino was awarded a scholarship and scored eight points in the Longhorns' national title victory over USC in 2006.



Thursday, 11/27
Saturday, 11/29