Four on Mackey Award watch list

Four Big East players were selected to the Mackey Award watch list, released today. Ryan Griffin of Connecticut, Josh Chichester of Louisville, D.C. Jefferson of Rutgers and Nick Provo of Syracuse are all in the running for the award, given annually to the best tight end in the nation.

No surprise with any of these guys, who are the best in the league. Their teams made up the top 4 in my team tight end position rankings. More watch lists in the coming days.

July 7: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award

July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy

July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

July 12: Rotary Lombardi Award

July 13: Rimington Trophy

July 14: Butkus Award

July 15: Davey O'Brien Award/Doak Walker Award

July 18: Walter Camp Award