Four from Big East on Hall ballot

Twelve players and two coaches will be announced Tuesday as College Football Hall of Fame inductees, with four men from schools currently in the Big East among the 77 players on the ballot who are eligible.

ESPN's Rece Davis will announce the event, which takes place at 11:30 a.m. ET at the NASDAQ MarketSite in Times Square in New York.

Here's a quick look at the four possible entries from the Big East:

Wayne Hardin, coach, Navy (1959-64) and Temple (1970-82): Hardin is the winningest coach in Owls history (80), leading them to their only 10-win season and lifting them to a No. 17 ranking in 1979.

Billy Jack Murphy, coach, Memphis (1958-71): Murphy is the winningest coach in Tigers history, notching 11 winning seasons in Memphis and retiring as the 15th-winningest coach in the nation.

Eric Dickerson, RB, SMU (1979-82): Dickerson finished third in the 1982 Heisman Trophy voting and was a unanimous first-team All-American. He currently holds 14 school records for the Mustangs.

Paul Palmer, RB, Temple (1983-86): Palmer set 23 records with the Owls and was named ECAC player of the year in 1986. That season he was a unanimous first-team All-American, leading the nation in rushing yards (1,866), rushing yards per game (169.6) and all-purpose yards (2,633).