Kelly, Wannstedt are semifinalists for Munger Award

Posted by ESPN.com's Brian Bennett

It's a big day for awards. Two Big East coaches, Cincinnati's Brian Kelly and Pitt's Dave Wannstedt, are among 15 semifinalists for the George Munger Award, given to the nation's top coach.

Texas Tech's Mike Leach won this award last year.

Kelly replaced 10 starters on defense and has the Bearcats unbeaten and ranked in the Top 5. Wannstedt has Pitt off to its best start since 1982 with a 7-1 record. He has won 17 of his last 22 games at Pitt.

Here is the complete list of Munger semifinalists:

  • Mack Brown, Texas

  • Kirk Ferentz, Iowa

  • Al Golden, Temple

  • Paul Johnston, Georgia Tech

  • Brian Kelly, Cincinnati

  • Chip Kelly, Oregon

  • Urban Meyer, Florida

  • Joe Paterno, Penn State

  • Gary Patterson, TCU

  • Chris Petersen, Boise State

  • Nick Saban, Alabama

  • Randy Shannon, Miami

  • Mike Stoops, Arizona

  • Kevin Sumlin, Houston

  • Dave Wannstedt, Pittsburgh

The Big East has no players on the semifinalist list for either the Thorpe (top defensive back) or Bednarik (top defensive player) awards.