Maybin, Laurinaitis named Bednarik Award finalists

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

The Big Ten produced two of the three finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's defensive player of the year.

Penn State defensive end Aaron Maybin and Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis made the list along with USC linebacker Rey Maualuga.

Maybin ranks third nationally in sacks (12, all solo) and sixth in tackles for loss (19). Laurinaitis ranks second in the Big Ten and 13th nationally in tackles average (10.1 tpg).