Big Ten announces COP/C committee

June, 30, 2011
Most Big Ten fans had little reason to pay attention to the league's Council of Presidents/Chancellors before December 2009.

But once the expansion process began, the COP/C entered the spotlight and has made several historic decisions in the past year and a half.

The Big Ten on Thursday announced its COP/C executive committee for the 2011-12 academic year.
  • Indiana president Michael McRobbie will serve as chair for the second year of his term.
  • Iowa president Sally Mason will serve as vice chair.
  • Michigan State president Lou Anna K. Simon and Penn State president Graham Spanier will serve on the executive committee. Simon was COP/C chair when the Big Ten approved Nebraska for admission last June.

The COP/C, which meets twice a year -- usually in June and December -- has the "ultimate authority and responsibility in Big Ten Conference governance," according to a news release. Each chair serves a two-year term.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?