Meyer, O'Brien finalists for Robinson Award

December, 3, 2012
After guiding their teams to strong seasons under the cloud of NCAA sanctions, Ohio State coach Urban Meyer and Penn State coach Bill O'Brien are receiving national recognition.

Both Meyer and O'Brien are among nine finalists for the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award. The winner will be announced Dec. 13.

Meyer guided Ohio State to the sixth undefeated, untied season in team history in his first year at the helm. O'Brien, a first-time head coach, led Penn State to an 8-4 mark. The Lions won eight of their final 10 games.

O'Brien edged Meyer for both Big Ten Coach of the Year awards -- the Hayes-Schembechler (coaches) and the Dave McClain (media).

Several media members have stumped for O'Brien as national coach of the year, but there are other strong candidates such as Kansas State's Bill Snyder, Notre Dame's Brian Kelly and Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin.

Former Ohio State coach Jim Tressel was the last Big Ten boss to win the Robinson award (2002).



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


Saturday, 12/20
Monday, 12/22
Tuesday, 12/23
Wednesday, 12/24
Friday, 12/26
Saturday, 12/27
Monday, 12/29
Tuesday, 12/30
Wednesday, 12/31
Thursday, 1/1
Friday, 1/2
Saturday, 1/3
Sunday, 1/4
Monday, 1/12