Big Ten players tournament, Game 5

The men's basketball tournament has reached the Sweet 16, but we're already in the final four of our Big Ten players tournament. (Of course, we only started with eight players, but that's neither here nor there).

Remember, we're pitting Big Ten standouts from the past 15 seasons in our theoretical bracket. We limited this tournament to one Big Ten team per entry, and candidates must have either won Big Ten MVP honors or a major national award.

Our first semifinal pits the No. 1 seed against a very impressive No. 4 seed. Voting for this matchup will take place until 9 a.m. ET Wednesday. The next round begins with ...

No. 1 seed Ron Dayne (Wisconsin RB, 1996-99) vs. No. 4 seed Drew Brees (Purdue QB, 1997-2000)

How do you prefer your Big Ten all-time offensive record-holders? Do you like a power running back a la Dayne, the 1999 Heisman Trophy winner who still holds the NCAA career rushing total record of 6,397 yards? Or do you lean more toward the protypical modern QB like Brees, who owns most career Big Ten passing records?

Dayne has that Heisman, while Brees finished third for the award in 2000. Both did win a Maxwell Award as the nation's best player. Brees willed Purdue to the 2001 Rose Bowl, while Dayne played in the Grandaddy in 1999 and 2000. Brees has undoubtedly had the much, much better NFL career, but this tournament is only about what players accomplished during their Big Ten careers.

Both players are legends at their respective schools. But which one was better? It's your turn to decide. Vote now, and send your rationale here. We'll post some of the best responses when we reveal the winner on Wednesday.