Print and Go Back Big Ten [Print without images]

Friday, February 20, 2009
Michigan's Mount Rushmore

By staff

Posted by's Adam Rittenberg

This is another Rushmore list that can't be completely on target or totally off base. Michigan has won too much and produced too many stars to fit on one mountain. 

The Wolverines boast 18 multiple All-Americans, including three-time selections Bennie Oosterbaan and Anthony Carter, neither of whom made the final list. The winningest program in FBS history has several iconic coaches, 15 Big Ten MVPs, three Heisman Trophy winners and two Maxwell Award winners. Michigan's Rushmore could easily be made up of four coaches, but I couldn't shut out the guys who made it happen on the field.

Here's the list for the Wolverines. 

Needless to say, there were a ton of others considered for Michigan's Rushmore, including: Oosterbaan, Carter, Desmond Howard, Gerald Ford, Fritz Crisler, Dan Dierdorf and Rick Leach.