Print and Go Back Big Ten [Print without images]

Tuesday, March 5, 2013
B1G players on Hall of Fame ballot

By Brian Bennett

The National Football Foundation has unveiled 77 players and five coaches from the FBS who are on this year's ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame, and the Big Ten is well represented.

Here are the candidates who played or coached at current Big Ten schools:
The ballot was mailed to more than 12,000 National Football Foundation members and current Hall of Famers, whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s 14-member Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a first team All-American by a major organization; played their last year of college football at least 10 years ago; played within the last 50 years and not currently be playing professionally. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years.

This year's Hall of Fame Class will be announced on May 7 in New York City.

It's hard to believe guys like Frazier, Pace and Dayne aren't already in the Hall of Fame, and there are many other worthy candidates on this list. Maybe this will be their year.