Print and Go Back Big Ten [Print without images]

Thursday, March 6, 2014
Tressel, 21 Big Ten players on HOF ballot

By Adam Rittenberg

Twenty-one players who suited up for current Big Ten schools are on the 2014 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame. Two coaches also made the ballot, including former Ohio State boss Jim Tressel.

Selections will be announced in May.

To be eligible, players must have been named a first-team All-American by a major national outlet, played their final season at least 10 years ago, played within the past 50 years and not currently be playing professional football. Coaches must have coached for a minimum of 10 years and 100 games, won at least 60 percent of their games and be retired for at least three years (unless they're older than 70).

Here's the Big Ten contingent for 2014 (in alphabetical order):

* played for team before it joined Big Ten


Fourteen of the players, as well as Rogers, appeared on last year's ballot, and 13 (as well as Rogers) appeared on the 2012 ballot. The Big Ten newcomers this year are Penn State's Conlan, Iowa's Dwight, Michigan State's Jones, Wisconsin's Krumrie, Michigan's Messner, and Illinois' dynamic linebacker tandem of Rice and Howard.

Tressel also makes his first appearance on the ballot and will be a fascinating candidate to watch, given his success at both Youngstown State and Ohio State and how things ended for him in Columbus.