Ainge seventh in executive of the year

May, 7, 2014
May 7
Boston Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge finished seventh in voting for the league's executive of the year award.

Ainge received five total votes, including a first-place vote, in balloting among his peers. League executives voted their top three choices.

San Antonio Spurs general manager R.C. Buford won the award. Ainge's former assistant Ryan McDonough finished second in balloting after his first year in charge of the Phoenix Suns.

Ainge started Boston's roster overhaul last summer by trading Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce to Brooklyn in exchange for three future first-round picks. While Boston labored through a transition year with a flawed roster, Ainge made two more moves in January aimed at unclogging the team's salary commitment and adding future draft picks.

Ainge's 2013-14 moves are likely to look better down the road when we know the full extent of the return haul from the moves he made. For this year at least, Ainge finished one spot ahead of Brooklyn's Billy King.

Read on for the full voting and past winners.

And the full list of previous winners:

1972-73 Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha
1973-74 Eddie Donovan, Buffalo
1974-75 Dick Vertlieb, Golden State
1975-76 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1976-77 Ray Patterson, Houston
1977-78 Angelo Drossos, San Antonio
1978-79 Bob Ferry, Washington
1979-80 Red Auerbach, Boston
1980-81 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1981-82 Bob Ferry, Washington
1982-83 Zollie Volchok, Seattle
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85 Vince Boryla, Denver
1985-86 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1986-87 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1987-88 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1988-89 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1989-90 Bob Bass, San Antonio
1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter, Portland
1991-92 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1992-93 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1993-94 Bob Whitsitt, Seattle
1994-95 Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1996-97 Bob Bass, Charlotte
1997-98 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1998-99 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
1999-00 John Gabriel, Orlando
2000-01 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
2001-02 Rod Thorn, New Jersey
2002-03 Joe Dumars, Detroit
2003-04 Jerry West, Memphis
2004-05 Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix
2005-06 Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-07 Bryan Colangelo, Toronto
2007-08 Danny Ainge, Boston
2008-09 Mark Warkentien, Denver
2009-10 John Hammond, Milwaukee
2010-11 Gar Forman, Chicago; Pat Riley, Miami
2011-12 Larry Bird, Indiana
2012-13 Masai Ujiri, Denver
2013-14 R.C. Buford, San Antonio

Chris Forsberg

Celtics reporter,



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.


Jeff Green
19.2 1.6 0.9 34.0
ReboundsJ. Sullinger 8.2
AssistsE. Turner 3.4
StealsK. Olynyk 1.2
BlocksK. Olynyk 0.8