MIAA releases first Super 8 baseball watch list

May, 4, 2014
May 4
Over the last several days, the MIAA released its initial list of teams being considered for the inaugural Division 1A "Super Eight" Tournament, set to begin on May 28. Tournament selection will take place on May 26 at MIAA headquarters in Franklin.

Nearly three-dozen teams made this first watch list, from Division 1 all the way down to Division 4, which speaks to the amount of parity across the state this spring. Teams currently not on the list still have the potential to enter the conversation later this month.

Courtesy of tournament director Don Fredericks, here are the teams currently being considered:

Division 1 North
Acton-Boxborough (6-4)
Billerica (5-3)
Lincoln-Sudbury (8-2)
Lowell (6-5)
Newton North (9-0)
Peabody (10-2)
St. John's Prep (9-1)

Division 1 South
BC High (6-3)
Braintree (6-1)
Bridgewater-Raynham (11-0)
Catholic Memorial (8-3)
North Attleborough (8-1)
Silver Lake (10-3)
Walpole (8-3)

Division 1 Central
Algonquin (8-3)
Leominster (7-3)
St. John's of Shrewsbury (9-3)
St. Peter-Marian (7-3)

Division 1 West
Springfield Cathedral (9-4)
West Springfield (8-2)
Westfield (9-4)

Division 2 North
Danvers (8-3)
Gloucester (11-1)
Masconomet (11-0)

Division 2 South
Duxbury (8-2)
Nauset (8-2)
Oliver Ames (10-1)
Plymouth North (6-4)

Division 3 South
Archbishop Williams (9-1)
Bellingham (9-0)
East Bridgewater (9-0)

Division 4 South
Pope John Paul II (11-0)

Brendan C. Hall

Reporter, ESPNBoston.com
Brendan C. Hall joined ESPNBoston.com as a high schools reporter/editor in May 2010, after four years covering high schools for The Boston Globe. The Westminster, Mass. native also served on the Globe's Bruins beat in 2009.




Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.