Patriots eligible for practice squad

Even with a number of roster moves already made, the final week of the preseason will continue be a busy one for the Patriots’ coaching and personnel staffs. By Tuesday afternoon, the team will be required to cut down to 80 players, and by Saturday afternoon, the regular season roster limit of 53 players will be in place. The Patriots roster currently stands at 82 players, including veteran long snapper James Dearth, who agreed to terms on Monday afternoon.

An important consideration when this week’s roster moves are made will be practice squad eligibility. At noon on Sunday, Sept. 4, teams will be allowed to establish an eight-man practice squad.

The following is a list of players currently on the Patriots roster who if cut and clear waivers will be eligible to be signed to the team’s practice squad. All rookies are eligible by default:


QB Ryan Mallett (rookie)

RB Shane Vereen (rookie)

RB Stevan Ridley (rookie)

RB Richard Medlin (rookie)

RB Eric Kettani

WR Taylor Price

WR Buddy Farnham

WR Jeremy Ross (rookie)

TE Carson Butler

TE Will Yeatman (rookie)

TE Lee Smith (rookie)

OL Nate Solder (rookie)

OL Thomas Austin

OL Rich Ohrnberger

OL Marcus Cannon (rookie)

OL Steve Maneri

OL Corey Woods (rookie)

OL Michael Berry (rookie)


DT Darryl Richard

DE Alex Silvestro (rookie)

DE Markell Carter (rookie)

LB Aaron Lavarias (rookie)

LB Jeff Tarpinian (rookie)

CB Ras-I Dowling (rookie)

S Ross Ventrone

In addition, veterans tight end Garrett Mills, wide receiver Tyree Barnes, and defensive lineman Kade Weston, as well as rookies defensive end Clay Nurse, kicker Chris Koepplin, offensive lineman Mark Wetterer, and cornerback Malcolm Williams, who were released by the team on Monday, are all eligible for the practice squad.